Partnerstädte

Trier

"Perhaps there is no other German-German town twinning which – agreed two years before the reunification – is today still as lively and as fresh as this one." (Stefan Wolf, Lord Mayor of Weimar)

Trier is more than 2,000 years old and thus the oldest city of Germany and has, just as Weimar, an eventful history that is rich in cultural heritage. The town twinning agreement between Weimar and Trier was signed on 24th May 1987, thus even before the German reunification. Since that time, numerous encounters and exchanges have taken place within the framework of the German-German partnership, among other things two organized group visits, one in 1997 and one in 2007. So far, the climax has been the celebration of the twentieth anniversary of the friendship.

Trier with its more than 2,000 years of history is the oldest city of Germany. On the other hand, Trier is still a youthful city with a future, located in a geographically favourable situation in the "heart of Europe“. "Augusta Treverorum", today‘s Trier, was founded in 16 BC by the Romans under Emperor Augustus near a sanctuary of the Celtic tribe of the Treverians. Today Trier with its approx. 100,000 inhabitants is an administratively independent city, a bishopric and a university city.

From an economic point of view, Trier is the centre of the wine-growing area along the rivers Moselle, Saar and Ruwer, and the location of well-known industrial sites. At the Moselle shipping route, there is an industrial and transshipment port as well as a freight transport hub.

From a touristic point of view, Trier is a destination offering a lot of variety to guests from all over the world, a popular venue for conferences and congresses, and a unique place to spend one’s holidays and to relax. Trier is a point of departure for trips to the rivers Moselle and Saar, into the Eifel region and the Hunsrück region and to neighbouring countries such as Luxemburg, Belgium and France.

Stone monuments bearing witness to Roman times and the times of the Electorate

The stone monuments are witnesses to Roman times and the times of the Electorate. The Porta Nigra as well as the imperial thermal baths, the amphitheatre, the Barbara thermal baths, the newly excavated Viehmarkt thermal baths and the Roman bridge over the Mosel river demonstrate, even today, the enormous size of the Roman city and its splendour. The UNESCO listed eight monuments of the city "World cultural heritage".

From a cultural point of view, Trier is an open-air museum of European architecture with monuments from Roman, romanesque and gothic times as well as renaissance, baroque and classicism. During the summer festival “Antikenfestspiele”, Trier‘s unique ruins form a splendid backdrop. Using topics from antique mythology, opera stars and famous stage directors bring them to life again.

For centuries, the city has been the centre of the Moselle area. In addition to the university and a university of applied sciences, there is also the European Academy of Fine Arts and the Academy of European Law. Trier is rich in cultural institutes and schools. Since 1994, the European academy of sports of Rhineland-Palatinate has had its seat in Trier, the landscape surrounding the Mosel  metropolis is a paradise for hikers and cyclists.

Information

Official Website

Key figures

Country: 
Germany

Geographic coordinates:
49°45' N, 6°40' E

Foundation:
16 B.C.

Inhabitants: 
108.000

Area: 
117 sq km

Lord Mayor: 
Wolfram Leibe

Twin Towns:

  • Ascoli Piceno (Italien)
  • Fort Worth (USA)
  • Gloucester (Großbritannien)
  • Metz (Frankreich)
  • Nagaoka (Japan)
  • Pula (Kroatien)
  • 's-Hertogenbosch (Niederlande)
  • Weimar (Deutschland)

Distance Trier - Weimar: 
440 km

Partnerstädte

Trier

"Vielleicht gibt es keine einzige innerdeutsche Städtefreundschaft, die – geboren zwei Jahre vor der Wende – noch heute so lebendig und frisch ist." (Stefan Wolf, Oberbürgermeister von Weimar)

Mit einem Alter von über 2.000 Jahren ist Trier die älteste Stadt Deutschlands und verfügt wie Weimar über eine bewegte und kulturträchtige Geschichte. Der Städtepartnerschaftsvertrag zwischen Weimar und Trier wurde noch vor der Wende, am 24. Mai 1987, unterzeichnet. Seitdem fanden im Rahmen der deutsch-deutschen Partnerschaft zahlreiche Begegnungen und Austausche statt, darunter zwei Bürgerreisen in den Jahren 1997 und 2007. Vorläufiger Höhepunkt waren die Feiern zum zwanzigjährigen Jubiläum der Freundschaft.

Trier ist die älteste Stadt Deutschlands mit mehr als 2000-jähriger Geschichte. Trier ist andererseits auch eine jung gebliebene Stadt mit Zukunft, die geographisch günstig im "Herzen Europas" liegt. "Augusta Treverorum", das heutige Trier, wurde 16 v. Chr. von den Römern unter Kaiser Augustus in der Nähe eines Stammesheiligtums der keltischen Treverer gegründet. Heute ist Trier mit seinen ca. 100.000 Einwohnern kreisfreie Stadt, Bischofs- und Universitätsstadt.  

Wirtschaftlich gesehen ist Trier Mittelpunkt des Weinbaugebiets an Mosel, Saar und Ruwer, zudem Standort namhafter Industriebetriebe. Am Moselschifffahrtsweg befindet sich ein Industrie- und Umschlaghafen sowie ein Güterverkehrszentrum.

Touristisch gesehen ist Trier ein abwechslungsreiches Reiseziel für Gäste aus aller Welt, ein beliebter Tagungs- und Kongressplatz, ein einmaliger Ferien- und Erholungsort. Trier bildet den Ausgangspunkt für Fahrten an die Mosel und an die Saar, in die Eifel und den Hunsrück sowie in die Nachbarländer Luxemburg, Belgien und Frankreich.

Steinerne Zeugen aus der Römer- und Kurfürstenzeit

Die Baudenkmäler sind steinerne Zeugen aus der Römer- und Kurfürstenzeit. Sowohl die Porta Nigra, die Kaiserthermen, das Amphitheater, die Barbarathermen, die neuausgegrabenen Viehmarktthermen und die Römerbrücke über der Mosel zeigen uns heute noch die stattlichen Ausmaße einer einst prachtvollen Römerstadt. Die UNESCO erklärte acht Bauwerke der Stadt zum "Weltkulturerbe der Menschheit".

Kulturell gesehen ist Trier ein Freilichtmuseum der europäischen Baukunst mit Bauten aus römischer, romanischer und gotischer Zeit sowie der Renaissance, des Barocks und des Klassizismus. Bei den sommerlichen Antikenfestspielen bilden Triers einzigartige Ruinen aus römischer Zeit eine grandiose Kulisse. Opernstars und berühmte Regisseure erwecken sie mit mythologischen Themen zu neuem Leben.

Seit Jahrhunderten ist die Stadt das Zentrum des Mosellandes. Neben einer Universität und einer Fachhochschule beherbergt sie die Europäische Akademie für bildende Kunst und die Europäische Rechtsakademie. Trier ist reich an Kulturinstituten und Schulen. Seit 1994 ist die Europäische Akademie des rheinland-pfälzischen Sports in Trier angesiedelt, die Umgebung der Mosel­metropole ist ein Eldorado für Wanderer und Radler.

Information

Offizielle Webseite

Trier in Zahlen

Land: 
Deutschland

Geografische Lage:
49°45' nördliche Breite, 6°40' östliche Länge

Gründung:
16 v. Chr.

Einwohner: 
108.000

Fläche: 
117 km²

Oberbürgermeister: 
Wolfram Leibe

Partnerstädte:

  • Ascoli Piceno (Italien)
  • Fort Worth (USA)
  • Gloucester (Großbritannien)
  • Metz (Frankreich)
  • Nagaoka (Japan)
  • Pula (Kroatien)
  • 's-Hertogenbosch (Niederlande)
  • Weimar (Deutschland)

Entfernung Trier - Weimar: 
440 km